Who are You? | Forum

Topic location: Forum home » Main Forum » Human Behavior
AnnaCzereda
AnnaCzereda Nov 19 '13
One woman went through clinical death experience and she had a rather bizarre though memorable vision. She saw bright light and a voice asking her: "Who are you?" 

"I'm a mayor's wife." She replied.

"I'm not asking you whose wife you are. I'm asking - Who are you?"

"I'm the mother of three children."

"I'm not asking you how many children you have. I'm asking: Who are you?"

"I'm a teacher."

"I'm not asking about your job." The voice replied and asked once again: "Who are you?"

"I'm a Christian."

"I'm not asking you about your religion but who you are."

"I try to help other people..."

But the voice was not satisfied and kept asking "Who are you?"

So if you are not your religion, your job, your social position or your deeds, who the hell are you? Are you the stream of your thoughts and emotions? Are you your opinions or your life story? Thoughts and emotions come and go, opinions change.

Is it possible to know yourself? It is difficult to follow someone who is always changing. Once you think you got to know yourself, some new information appears, making the previous one inaccurate. And there you are, forever chasing that rabbit - your Self.

Can you look at yourself in an objective manner, go beyond your personal biases? Or perhaps, you think other people know you better than you know yourself? 

What do you think?

SIN_JONES
SIN_JONES Nov 19 '13

I think if you can only describe yourself by your story, you don't exist.  Only your story exists. 

Axiom IV. Book of SIN:

Be not the Story

Every person has a story, identifying with the story makes YOU disappear. Ask yourself every day: WHO AM I? If you can only express who you are by your story, you do not exist. Only your story exists.

Interrogist
Interrogist Nov 19 '13
There is you.

There is the you you believe yourself to be.

There is the you others believe you to be.